Search for an answer or browse help topics to create a ticket


Show moreless
View all categories

What is Financial Action Task Force (FATF) list?

The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) is a global watchdog that combats money laundering and terrorist financing. It sets international standards to prevent illegal activities. FATF identifies countries with weak anti-money laundering and counter-terrorist financing measures (AML/CFT).

Zerodha does not allow account openings for clients residing in countries blacklisted by the FATF. Clients residing in grey-listed countries may open an account if Zerodha's compliance team approves all submitted documents as satisfactory. To see the FATF black and grey listed countries, visit

Zerodha may request additional income proof from NRI clients who reside in countries that are part of the FATF grey list. Enhanced due diligence protocols are implemented for these clients to verify the source of their income within their country of residence. This is also carried out in accordance with directives from FATF and SEBI.

Income proof can be any of the following:

  • Latest month's salary slip
  • Last 6 months' bank statement
  • Proof of foreign tax payment